The original 50 acres of Hadwen Park were donated to the City by Park Commissioner Obadiah B. Hadwen in 1902. Hadwen Park has many winding nature trails, as well as a long, quick-flowing river that runs from Leesville to Curtis Pond. This park is only two minutes from Webster Square, lying across Curtis Pond from Hope Cemetery.
In addition to the hiking trails and river, this park also features a baseball diamond, updated basketball court, picnic area and accessible playground located in the north western section of the park.
The City of Worcester had two rope tow areas that operated in the 1960s. One was located at Green Hill Park within the Golf Course and the other was located at Hadwen Park. The rope tow at Hadwen Park was eventually converted into a pony lift before closing in the late 1980s. Today, the hill is used for sledding in the winter months.
While you're playing some basketball or baseball with family and friends, the kids can enjoy some playtime on the playground. There are many different types of climbing structures and swings to keep them entertained.
Certainly a gem of a park and one of the most serene hiking areas in the city. Hadwen Park has many winding trails and steep hills, as well as a long, quick-flowing river that runs from Leesville to Curtis Pond.
Large enough to provide a total escape from urban sights and sounds, the park is small enough for hikers to roam along a series of interconnected looping trails and paths through a wide range of natural terrain without needing a map. Get out and enjoy a walk through some of Worcester's green space.
View some of the other parks in this district. Get out and explore!
Located across the street from Foley Stadium, Beaver Brook Park is home to both Ted Williams Little League and the Worcester Vikings youth football program. It offers many paved walking paths with pedestrian lighting, as well as numerous playing fields. It’s one of the City’s busiest parks.
The area around Coes Pond offers an accessible, multi-generational park and playground. There are approximately 5 miles of walking trails including the East-West Trail that link John J. Binienda Memorial beach, Columbus Park and Reed Memorial Rectangular Field and playground.
Logan Field was purchased in 1928, from the trustees of the Speedway Glens. It was named for James Logan who served as Mayor of the City for four years and was a pioneer in the playground movement. The head of the Blue Square Trail, which leads to God's Acre and Tetasset Ridge, starts here.
Location: 19 Heard Street - Map
Size: 58.1 acres
Parking Lot(s): Yes
Master Plan: View