The Green Hill Park Farm and all playgrounds and play structures are closed until further notice; city parks and open spaces remain open. The City is acting with an abundance of caution.
In 1864, Thomas and Eliza Dodge moved to Worcester, where they became generous donors to many organizations. In 1881, he and Charles Washburn organized the Worcester Barbed Wire Fence Company. Thomas Dodge donated the 13 acres of land to establish Dodge Park in 1889. He was an inventor, in addition to studying law. Dodge died on February 12, 1910, leaving a rich legacy of philanthropy to the City of Worcester.
In 1897, a rustic stone bridge was built over what was Arthur Spring at the time, designed by Martin Green.
Today, Dodge Park has a gazebo, a picnic area and nature trails to enjoy!
View some of the other parks in this district. Get out and explore!
This playground is named after the late Elizabeth "Betty" Price, a woman who led the way for African American women in Worcester. The property consists of two parcels: one initially acquired from Prospect House, Inc. in 1968 and a second parcel acquired by the City in 2000.
Harrington Field is a 6-acre park on the city's East Side, located between Franklin Street and Harrington Way. Named after former Worcester Mayor Francis A. Harrington, it is the home of Jack Barry Little League and features two softball fields, a baseball field, a playground and a basketball court.
Ramshorn Island is a small island on Lake Quinsigamond. It is located on the south side of the Burns Bridge. While many of the islands on Lake Quinsigamond are privately owned, Ramshorn Island is owned by the City of Worcester; therefore it is open to public use.