Green Hill Park represents a landscape which has been greatly transformed over the past several centuries, from wilderness to farmland, to a country estate and finally, to a unique multi-use public park. Once an estate belonging to the Green family, the park is almost 500 acres and listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Green Hill Park is located atop one of Worcester's seven main hills.
Development of the land was carefully planned and managed by the Green family for over a century. The park offers unique vistas and panoramas to residents from the rolling Millstone, Crown, Green and Chandler Hills as well as areas of mature woodlands and open space. The City has acquired additional adjacent open space in an effort to protect, enhance and expand the park.
Worcester's largest and most diverse park includes a golf course and a lighted field for football, two for softball and five for soccer. There also is a zoo with farm animals, an arboretum, two ponds, playgrounds and a network of drives and parking areas. The State-wide Vietnam Veterans Memorial is located within the core of the park close to Green Hill Pond, a 30-acre "great pond". Multiple gazebos and picnic areas provide areas to relax and take in the view.
The Green Hill Golf Course is a par 72, 18-hole municipal golf course offering City residents and non-City residents an exciting and challenging round of golf along with providing the industry standard amenities and services to these golfers. The golf course is operated eight months of the year on the enterprise system, separate from the municipal tax-levy budget.
The Willie Ogg designed Green Hill G.C. opened on April 1st 1929. Ogg, in a ceremonial opening 9 hole round held the first course record of 39 besting Green Hill’s first head golf professional Walter Cosgrove, P.G.A.
Green Hill G.C. was redesigned by William F. Mitchell, re-opening in 1968. Green Hill golf course has played host to Mass Golf Association, New England P.G.A. and U.S.G.A. events along with long standing commitments to the Women’s Golf Association of Massachusetts and Worcester County Women’s Golf Association.
The Green Hill Park Farm is home to various gentle farm animals and is a great place for families with children looking for a leisurely activity on a nice day. The farm is open year round and located within Green Hill Park along Green Hill Parkway. The farm is free of charge and open to the public.
In addition to the Green Hill Golf Course, Green Hill Park has numerous options for the whole family to enjoy! From fishing at Green Hill Pond to handball, baseball, softball, soccer/football on their multipurpose field (soccer and football markouts and equipment may occur at different times of the year) and even a skate park; there's a variety of sporting areas to keep you busy!
Map and guide to a collection of specialty trees planted throughout Green Hill Park.
Map and history of the East Side Trail that runs from Green Hill Park to Lake Quinsigamond.
The Massachusetts Vietnam Veterans' Memorial was dedicated in June of 2002 and is located at Green Hill Park in Worcester.
In 1713 a group of settlers purchased eight square miles of hunting grounds, including the present parkland, from the Massachusetts Bay Colony. Aaron Adams built the first structure on the land in 1714, and established a farm on the northern section of Millstone Hill. Twenty years later more than a hundred acres adjacent to the farm was purchased for the town of Worcester's use as a quarry. By 1750, the only other addition to the land was seven acres bought at auction by Adam's brother Thomas, who then owned the farm.
In 1754, Dr. Thomas Green purchased from Thomas Adams about 180 acres. This land, with later additions, became known as "Stormont" or "Green Hill". His son, Dr. John Green inherited the land, and in 1757 he built the first Green family homestead. His children expanded the land, including Bear Brook, which Martin Green later dammed, creating Green Hill Pond.
After many enhancements by John's son William and then William's son Andrew, the family's land was now 549 acres of beautiful property. When Andrew Green died in 1903 and left his estate to five nieces and nephews, who in turn sold the parkland to the City of Worcester. By this purchase, the City of Worcester acquired a large and unique park resource which has since provided recreational opportunities for many generations of city residents.
View some of the other parks in this district. Get out and explore!
East Park has two stone griffins flanking the park entrance. The park contains lighted football fields, a tennis court, two basketball courts, a splash pad, a new playground, amphitheater and many acres of hillsides connecting the East Side Trail.
Lake View Playground is a small neighborhood park located on Lakeview Street, less than half a mile away from Lake Quinsigamond. This park features a playground, a swing set and a half basketball court. There also is a memorial stone bench on the Lakeview Street side of the park.
Ramshorn Island is a small island on Lake Quinsigamond. It is located on the south side of the Burns Bridge. While many of the islands on Lake Quinsigamond are privately owned, Ramshorn Island is owned by the City of Worcester; therefore it is open to public use.
Location: 301 Green Hill Parkway - Map
Size: 470.0 acres
Parking Lot(s): Yes
Master Plan: View