Traffic and Parking Committee Meeting

Monday, April 14, 2008

Joe Schwartz Little League Field House

Convened: 5:30 P.M.

Adjourned: 6:35 P.M.

Konstantina B. Lukes


Clerk of the City Council
David J. Rushford

Committee Members

Chairperson Joffrey A Smith
Councilor Frederick C Rushton
Councilor Kathleen M Toomey

City Hall - 455 Main Street Worcester, Massachusetts

Present Were:Chairperson Councilor Joffrey A Smith Councilor Frederick C Rushton Councilor Kathleen M Toomey
Also:DPWP Director of Traffic Engineering Joseph Borbone
DPWP Ass't Commissioner Robert Antonelli
Worcester Police Lieutenant, John Fallavolita
City Clerk David J. Rushford, clerk

Hearing - Residential Parking Petition


Robin Hornbaker request residential parking on Brooks St. across from 58 Brooks St. in the area next to Joe Schwartz Little League Field.
# 9k CC February 12, 2008

In Committee March 18, 2008 - Held


Recommend Adoption of the Accompanying Order:

Request City Manager request the Commissioner of the Department of Public Works and Parks to recommend solutions to the problems of on-street parking in the vicinity of Joe Schwartz Little League that include the following components:

a. that the double yellow center line of Brooks Street from the corner of Ararat Street southerly to the area of Mount Avenue be relocated westerly within the pavement width so as to allow for safe on-street parking in the east side of the road in the vicinity of # 48, 58, 64A & 64B Brooks Street,
b. that the existing No Parking zone in the west side of Brooks Street on the side of 2 Ararat Street be reduced by relocating the existing sign southerly in Brooks Street approximately 20 feet,
c. that the existing crosswalk in Ararat Street at the intersection with Brooks Street be repainted and that a new crosswalk be added in Brooks Street from the driveway entrance to the Joe Schwartz Little League parking lot to #58 Brooks Street.

1. Chelsea C. Ericson, 40B Brooks Street, Worcester
2. Kent & Maryanne Miller, 50C Brooks Street, Worcester
3. Bob Lyons, VP, Joe Schwartz Little League, 634 Grove Street, Worcester
4. Lesa Humphrey, Secretary, Joe Schwartz Little League
5. Karen Linfield, 48 Brooks Street, Worcester
6. Cheri Cogoli, 48 Brooks Street, Worcester
7. Robin Hornbaker, 58 Brooks Street, Worcester
8. Robert Hornbaker, 58 Brooks Street, Worcester
9. S Linfield, 48 Brooks Street, Worcester
10. Jeffrey Lawrence, 50D Brooks Street, Worcester