Economic Development Committee Meeting

Wednesday, September 5, 2018

Levi Lincoln (North) Chamber

Convened: 5:35 P.M.

Adjourned: 7:56 P.M.

Joseph M. Petty


Clerk of the City Council
Susan M. Ledoux

Committee Members

Chairperson Candy Mero-Carlson
Councilor Sarai Rivera
Councilor Matthew E Wally

City Hall - 455 Main Street Worcester, Massachusetts

Present Were:Chairperson Councilor Candy Mero-Carlson; Councilor Sarai Rivera; Councilor Kathleen M. Toomey (appointed as a temporary member by the Mayor for this meeting.); Also : Mayor Joseph M Petty; Councilor Morris a. Bergman; Councilor Konstantina B. Lukes; Councilor George J. Russell; Councilor Gary Rosen; Councilor Sean Rose; Councilor Morris A. Bergman; City Clerk Susan M. Ledoux, clerk
Also:City Manager Edward M. Augustus, Jr.; Chief Development Officer Michael Traynor; City Consultant Attorney Jeffrey Mullan; DPW Commissioner Paul Moosey; Chief Financial Officer Thomas Zidelis; Dr. Charles Steinberg, President; Dan Rea, General Manager; Kim Miner, General Counsel; Bart Harvey Special Assistant to the Chairman

Communication of the City Manager


Recommending approval of items relative to the Worcester Red Sox. # 9.36A CM August 21, 2018

In Committee August 28, 2018 - Held


Chairperson Councilor Mero-Carlson invited Attorney Mark Donahue, representing Madison Downtown Holdings, to speak regarding their participation in the project. Mr. Donahue introduced Denis Dowle, President of Madison Downtown Holdings, who also spoke regarding his businessís commitment to the project.

Chairperson Councilor Mero-Carlson opened the meeting for the community to speak:
1. Mark Lorenz, Worcester resident
2. Mike King, Worcester resident
3. Frank Kartheiser, Worcester resident
4. Mark Naul, Auburn resident
5. Robert Kwiatkowski, Worcester resident
6. Michael Papagni, Worcester resident
7. Elizabeth (No last name given) Worcester Student
8. Thomas Maloney, no residence given
9. Timothy Smith, Worcester resident
10. Shahbaz Soofi, Worcester resident
11. Jo Hart, Worcester resident
12. Fred Nathan, Worcester resident
13. Mat Feinstein, Worcester resident
14. Keith Scott, Worcester resident
15. Carmen Vasquez, Worcester resident
16. Brian Brousseau, Worcester resident
17. Ethan Snow, No residence given
18. Robert Baumann, Worcester resident
19. Ali Abanaum, no residence given
20. Stephen Gordon, Worcester resident
21. James Latino, Worcester resident
22. John Martinez, Worcester resident
23. David Dobson, Worcester resident
24. Fred Taylor, no resident given
25. Libby OíHara, Worcester resident
26. Kevin Ksen, Worcester resident
27. Philip Palmieri, Worcester resident
28. Matt Lynch, no residence given
29. Terri Kelly, Worcester resident
30. Jack Donahue, Worcester
31. Dave Shea, Worcester resident
32. Karen Stoyanoff, Shrewsbury resident
33. Robert Williams, Worcester property owner
34. Councilor Lukes
35. Councilor Bergman

Chairperson Councilor Mero-Carlson read a letter submitted to the Committee from Congressman James McGovern. The Chairperson also submitted to the Clerk for the record 15 letters of support for this project.

Recommend Approval on a roll call vote of 3 Yeas and 0 Nays

Chairman's Orders

Request City Manager when forming the community benefit agreement for the baseball development project to consider incorporating concerns regarding environmental issues, housing, local jobs, local purchasing and neighborhood integration.

Request City Manager provide to the City Council the TIF biannual reports.

Request City Manager work with the local labor organizations to discuss concerns they may have with the construction of the ballpark and the area neighborhood development project.