Economic Development Committee Meeting

Tuesday, April 28, 2009

Esther Howland (South) Chamber

Convened: 10:10 A.M.

Adjourned: 11:43 A.M.

Konstantina B. Lukes


Clerk of the City Council
David J. Rushford

Committee Members

Chairperson Philip P Palmieri
Councilor Paul P Clancy Jr.
Councilor Barbara G Haller

City Hall - 455 Main Street Worcester, Massachusetts

Present Were:Chairperson Councilor Philip P Palmieri
Councilor Paul P Clancy Jr
Councilor Barbara G Haller
Also:City Manager Michael V. O'Brien
Assistant City Management/Development Julie A. Jacobson
City Solicitor David M. Moore
Chief Financial Officer Thomas Zidelis
Director of Economic Development Timothy McGourthy
Economic Development Staff Person Paul Morano
CitySquare Staff Person Richard Trifero
City Clerk David J. Rushford, clerk

VIEW - Leaving City Hall Garage at 9:00 A.M.




Communication of the City Manager request Certain City Council Actions in Regard to the CitySquare Downtown Development Project.
# 10.5C CM April 14, 2009


Hearing convened: 10:10 A.M. Hearing Adjourned: 11:39 A.M.

The Chairperson introduced City Manager Michael V. O'Brien, Christopher Collins, Chief Executive Officer of Unum Provident and Barbara Smith-Bacon, Vice President of Berkeley Development Corporation. Mr. Collins introduced a meber of his Unum legal team. Ms. Smith-Bacon introduced Ian McGill of the Berkeley Finance team.

The City Manager provided the Committee with details of the various proposals concerning a District Initiative Grant, District Improvement Financing Plan, changes tot he DIF Bond Commitments, the Economic Opportunity Area, Certified Project Application, TAx Increment Financing Plan and the City of Worcester permit fee ordinance amendment; all with regard to the proposed CitySquare development.


1. David P. Forsberg, Worcester resident and President of the Worcester
Business Development Corporation
2. Sandra Dunn, Holden resident and General Manager of the DU Center
3. Craig Blais, Sutton resident and Executive Vice President of the Worcester
Business Development Corporation
4. Richard Kennedy, Worcester resident and President of the Worcester
Regional Chamber of Commerce
5. Oley Carpp, Worcester resident and President of Choose Worcester
6. Edward O'Donnell, Boston resident and representing the Mayo Group

The Committee received on piece of written testimony (attached) from Roberta R. Schaefer, Ph.D., President and CEO of the Worcester Regional Research Bureau.

At the conclusion of the public comment, the Chairperson closed the hearing. The Committee members proceeded to vote Approval of the following on a roll call of 3-0. The Committee also voted to Deny reconsideration on these on a roll call vote of 3-0.

1. Approval of the Resolution for Certified Project Application for Unum Group
and The Paul Revere Life Insurance Company

2. Approval of the Resolution for a Site Specific Economic Opportunity Area at
One Mercantile St.

3. Approval of an Order for a Third Amendment to the DIF Development Program
for City Square.