Election Commission Meeting Sept. 28, 2009 Minutes

Present: Chair John Stewart, Vice-Chair Mary Anne Dube, Secretary Ana Rodriguez, Joseph McGowan, John Goggins

At 5:03, Chairman Stewart called the meeting to order and lead us in the Pledge of Allegiance.

City Clerk David Rushford called the role.

Minutes of the previous meeting were distributed for review. Mary Anne Dube moved to accept the minutes as read. Ana Rodriguez seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Old Business-

City Clerk Rushford began the process of selecting the order of the November ballot candidates. Only opposed candidates would be drawn.

City Council At-Large:

- 1. Stephen Buchalter
- 2. Joseph M. Petty
- 3. Kola A. Akindele
- 4. Kathleen M. Toomey
- 5. Emmanuel Tsitsilianos
- 6. Mary S. Keefe
- 7. Frederick C. Rushton
- 8. Konstantina Lukes
- 9. Michael J. Germain
- 10. William J. McCarthy
- 11. Joseph O'Brien

District 1 Councilor-

Joffrey A. Smith

Joseph A. Casello

District 3 Councilor-

Paul P. Clancy, Jr.

Frank A. Beshai

District 4 Councilor-Barbara G. Haller Grace C. Ross

School Committee

- 1. Brian O'Connell
- 2. Tracy O'Connell Novick
- 3. Dianna L. Biancheria
- 4. Mary J. Mullaney
- 5. Robert A. Bogigian
- 6. Robert Diaz
- 7. John F. Monfredo
- 8. Jack L. Foley

Mayor-

- 1. Konstantina Lukes
- 2. Joseph C. O'Brien
- 3. Kathleen M. Toomey
- 4. Emmanuel Tsitsilianos

City Clerk Rushford then shared a letter from Mr. Zidelis regarding the Inactive Voter list. The letter addressed two issues. First, the School Department believes that the reimbursement statute no longer is applicable. Mr. Rushford will look into this and report back to the commission at our next meeting. Second, the '09-'10 street listing funding should be adequate to conduct this survey. Mr. Rushford will keep the board informed.

Voter registration deadlines were then discussed.

For the November general election, registration closes on Oct. 14 at 8:00PM.

For the December primary for the US Senate election, the registration deadline is November 18 at 8:00PM.

For the January 19 general election, the deadline is December 30 at 8:00PM.

Mrs. Dube brought up the issue of cost of the additional two elections, December primary for US Senate and January general for the US Senate. Mr. Rushford explained that since both elections are state mandated, we will be reimbursed.

The next meeting will be Oct. 19, 2009 at 5:00 PM. Joseph McGowan moved to adjourn the meeting at 5:20PM, and Ana Rodriguez seconded. Unanimous.