This is a brochure of the Worcester Consumer

s 00T d
Rights Program. We wish to keep you updated on §s S& c-<5 g Massachusetts
common topics in consumer issues. We hope that g3 29Z2= . :
2 5
this brochure provides a general overview on 5 3533 3 Lemon Aid and Used Vehicle
N o © o) = SRE
Lemon Aid Law. 58 355063 >, Warranty Law
"5 8352 $5399
95 T&c3d Sogd g R
52 B3g> 22353
® g <z a0 =g
=3 o ® 50 =
o T Ht 8 I
s @ S S~¢
2 3 >2 5 I3
2 o3 X8
Z 3 = ® 2
g 3 82
5 (0] = Lg.
o 3
< Qo
I
=2

7 days initially

$700 or more
125,000 miles or less

14 days altogether
for Lemon Aid

30, 60 or 90 days for
Warranty Law

Worcester Consumer Rights Program
Proudly serving the residents of Worcester and neigh-
boring towns of:

Auburn, Berlin, Boylston, Clinton, Grafton, Holden, y m
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Lemon Law, Lemon Aid and the
Used Vehicle Warranty Law

Some consumers confuse Lemon Law
with Lemon Aid Law.....and here is the
simple difference - one relates to a
new and leased car (Lemon Law),
while the other relates to used vehicle
(Lemon Aid Law). The majority of con-
sumer auto complaint relate to Lemon
Aid and Used Vehicle Warranty Law.

Now let’s go over a few details and find
out whether you're eligible under the
Lemon Aid or Used Vehicle Warranty
law.....here is the MATH:

Q Did you purchase a used vehicle
In Massachusetts and then have it

inspected within FASIF- S8 23

from date of purchase and the vehicle
had failed inspection due to safety or
combined safety and emissions test?

QQ Did you pay at least

more for the purchase and
evidence (such as a receipt, signed
note or bill of sale) to support the
transaction (dealer sales only)?

Q(}Q Was the vehicle’s

odometer reading (or mileage) below
E at the time you
make the
purchase or took delivery from the
dealership or used auto lot?

If you met the first Q condition
described above, then the transaction
qualifies under Lemon Aid Law and
you have to immediately do the

following within m days from
the date of sale:

Get a written statement from
authorized agent of inspection
station on why vehicle failed.

Obtain written estimate of cost to

repair. The estimated cost to

repair must exceed 10% of the
purchase price.

Notify seller of your intention to

void sales contract under the

statute (M.H.L. c. 90, s7N). Send
by certified mail and request a return
receipt. Enclose a copy of the
documents listed above in the first
two  (stepsl & 2).

Finally, deliver the car to the

seller even if delivery requires a
towing service. Take a witness with
you and copies of documents listed in
steps 1, 2, & 3. If the seller refuses the
car, prepare a statement indicating
that you and a witness delivered the
car to the seller on that day. Be sure
the statement is signed by both you
and your witness in the presence of a
notary public.

If you met both conditions in m

and QQ . above (even after

vehicle passed emission inspection
but brought back at least 3 times due
to same mechanical defect), then
transaction qualifies under the Used
Vehicle Warranty Law and you are

entitled to a[ REFUND. ]

Under either Lemon Aid or Used
Vehicle Warranty Law, seller is
obligated to issue a full refund or fix
emission and/ or safety-related issues
at seller’s expense (if you so agree to
that option). If the seller refuses to
comply, you may seek legal counsel.
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