
Massachusetts 

Lemon Aid and Used Vehicle 

Warranty Law   

 

 

 

 

 

 

        

 7 days initially 

 
     $700 or more 

 
     125,000 miles or less 

 
     14 days altogether        
     for Lemon Aid 
 
     30, 60 or 90 days for            
     Warranty Law 
 
 

…..Let’s do the 
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Worcester Consumer Rights Program  
 

Proudly serving the residents of Worcester and  
neighboring towns of: 

 Auburn, Berlin, Blackstone, Boylston, Clinton,  
Cochituate, Douglas, Grafton, Holden, Hopedale,  

Leicester, Medway, Mendon, Milford, Millbury, Millis, 
Millville, Northborough, Northbridge, Paxton,  

Shrewsbury, Southborough, Sutton, Upton, Uxbridge, 
West Boylston, and Westborough. 

This is a brochure of the Worcester Consumer 

Rights Program. We wish to keep you updated on 

common topics in consumer issues. We hope that 

this brochure provides a general  overview on   

Lemon Aid Law.  



Lemon Law, Lemon Aid and the    

Used Vehicle Warranty Law 

Some consumers confuse Lemon Law 

with Lemon Aid Law…..and here is the 

simple difference  -  one relates to a 

new and leased car (Lemon Law), 

while the other relates to used vehicle 

(Lemon Aid Law). The majority of con-

sumer auto complaint relate to Lemon 

Aid and Used Vehicle Warranty Law. 

Now let’s go over a few details and find 

out whether you’re eligible under the 

Lemon Aid or Used Vehicle Warranty 

law…..here is the MATH: 

Did you purchase a used vehicle 

in Massachusetts and then have it     

inspected within  

from date of 

purchase and the vehicle had failed in-

spection due to safety or combined 

safety and emissions test?   

 

Did you pay at least   or 

more for the pur- chase 

and have evidence (such as a re-

ceipt, signed note or bill of sale) to 

support the transaction (dealer sales 

only)?    

Finally, deliver the car to the 

seller even if delivery requires a 

towing service. Take a witness 

with you and copies of documents 

listed in steps 1, 2, & 3. If the seller 

refuses the car, prepare a statement 

indicating that you and a witness 

delivered the car to the seller on that 

day. Be sure the statement is signed 

by both you and your witness in the 

presence of a notary public.  

—————————————————— 

If you met both conditions in  

and    above (even 

after vehicle passed 

emission inspection but  brought back 

at least 3 times due to same 

mechanical defect), then transaction 

qualifies under the Used Vehicle 

Warranty Law and you are entitled to 

a  

 

Under either Lemon Aid or Used 

Vehicle Warranty Law, seller is 

obligated to issue a full refund or fix  

emission and/ or safety-related issues 

at seller’s expense (if you so agree to 

that option). If the seller refuses to 

comply, you may seek legal counsel. 

 

Was the vehicle’s 

odometer reading (or 

mileage) below 

at the time you 

make the purchase or took delivery 

from the dealership or used auto lot?  

—————————————————--- 

If you met the first condition  

described above, then the 

transaction qualifies under Lemon 

Aid Law and you have to immediately 

do the  

following within days from 

the date of sale: 

 

 Get a written statement from 

authorized agent of inspection 

station on why vehicle failed. 

Obtain written estimate of cost to 

repair. The estimated cost to 

repair must exceed 10% of the 

purchase price. 

Notify seller of your intention to 

void sales contract under the 

statute (M.H.L. c. 90, s7N). Send 

by certified mail and request a 

return receipt. Enclose a copy of the 

documents listed above in the first 

two  (steps 1 & 2). 

125,000 

 REFUND. 


